Movie of the Week: Shaun of the Dead

Shaun of the Dead (2004)

Director: Edgar Wright

Starring: Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Kate Ashfield, Lucy Davis, Dylan Moran

Written By: Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg

In honor of Halloween the movie of the week this week is my favorite film from the Cornetto Trilogy, Shaun of the Dead.  Just as a quick side note, I did adore the newest ShaunoftheDead1of the trilogy The Worlds End (2013). I saw it twice in one week (calm down kid). So if you haven’t seen it yet, go see it!.

When I was in high school this film was recommended to me by someone who I didn’t like therefore I refused to watch it (stubborn much?). Then one day months later I got a hold of Spaced (a television show Simon Pegg and Nick Frost starred in and Edgar Wright directed) and I fell in love with those silly british boys and the rest is history. I then proceeded to watch every film Simon Pegg was ever in and Shaun of the Dead is definitely my favorite.

Shaun of the Dead is basically about a man, Shaun, who wakes up one day to find apocalyptic chaos in the form of zombies roaming the streets freely eating people and doing whatever it is zombies do (disclaimer: I know nothing about zombies). While that’s all fine and good, the thing that makes this film so great is the fact that it is so relatable. Zombie film relatable? Yes, I will (hopefully) never has to face off in a zombie apocalypse, BUT Shaun goes through a lot of emotions that I think every person can connect with. He has lack of life direction and he is uncertain where he is going or what he is doing. He habitually does the same things every day (aka going to his favorite pub the Winchester) and is stuck in a dead end job withtumblr_ms3mcf4opU1ryy772o1_500 no prospects. He is stuck with a deadbeat friend that he loves too much to throw off of his couch and a girlfriend who wants him to step out of his comfort zone. He is torn between the boring lack luster life he is leading and big scary world of possibilities. When the zombie finally take over Shaun is faced with choices and stepping up into the leader role if he wants the people he loves to survive. Pretty deep for a zombie movie eh?

And or course, this film is packed with nonstop jokes and I guarantee you won’t be disappointed. There is a British flavour to this film and the humor follows that style. It’s dry and absurd all at the same time. If you know this isn’t your type of comedy then I wouldn’t suggest watching this film (even though secretly I still want you to give it a chance!).

I was going to dress up as Shaun for Halloween this year and go to Disneyland, but I think cricket bats covered in fake blood my constitute as a weapon. Your loss Mickey.

Posted on October 31, 2013, in Movie of the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

