Album of the Week: Scorpion Child

Scorpion Child – Scorpion Child (2013)

I was really excited when I heard this debut album by the Texas band Scorpion Child. I always get excited when I hear something that is a total blast from the past. At first listen I instantly thought to myself, “this is so Led Zeppelin it’s insane.” I knew I was right, so I played the song “Polygon Eyes” for my friends. I hyped the song up a lot. I told them I would play the song for them and then they had to guess what band they sounded like because it was totally obvious. They listened to it and had confused looks on their faces, followed with, “ummmm I don’t know, maybe Ozzy Osbourne.” I then gavescorpion child them my “what the hell” face and said, “No, it sounds like Led Zeppelin!” To which they responded, “ummm I guess a little bit.”

Whatever. I know I’m right. I’m right, right?

This album totally rocks from beginning to end. It’s the kind of music that makes you feel like you’re on an open road (I’m going with Route 66). Now, just picture it, you’re out there driving to no place in particular with the windows down, your hair is blowing in the wind and you don’t have a care in the world. Just listen, you’ll feel it.

I would say this album is very 70’s bluesy rock sounding, but a bit heavier. They are a serious throwback to the 70’s and if you dig that era of rock I think you can enjoy the fresh take that Scorpion Child has on it.

This is the kind of thing I wish rock radio would play. Rock radio, at least in Southern California, is bent on just playing the same 3 songs from the same group of artists, from about 1960-1990, over and over again. It’s like the don’t realize that there are new bands out there, like Scorpion Child, that have that old sound the radio loves, but takes it in a new direction and raises the flag for the new millennium of rock music. Don’t get me wrong, I love the past, but we also have to look to the future.

 

Favorite Songs: “Polygon Eyes”, “Liquor”, “The Secret Spot”

Posted on March 5, 2014, in Album of the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment