Movie of the Week: Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters (1984)

ghostbusters-logo

Director: Ivan Reitman

Starring: Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis Sigourney Weaver, Rick Moranis, Ernie Hudson

Written by: Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis

Music: Elmer Bernstein

Producer: Ivan Reitman

 

A few days ago I was in a class of about 60 people who ranged from the ages of about 17-55. The instructor of the class was going over some very important safety information. He reached a point in his PowerPoint where he had several numbers listed of places to call in case of specific emergencies. After going over the numbers several times to really drive home the point of memorizing the numbers he then, very seriously, asked the class, “so who are you going to call?” Without fail the entire class responded in unison “Ghostbusters!” He then sighed, ignored us and kept going on with the important information. He wasn’t impressed. I on the other hand thought it was extremely entertaining. I was happy to see that Ghostbusters really is a film that transcends generations and it’s such a huge pop culture reference that everyone knows.

Ghostbusters is a comedy about a couple of out of work scientists who, due to the recent outbreak of paranormal activity in New York City (it’s always New York City), start an agency to capture the roaming vapors. As it generally does, chaos ensues. Disasters of biblical proportions (dogs and cats, living together! Mass hysteria!), crossing streams, giant stay puff marshmallow men,  you know, real wrath-of-God type stuff.

Ghostbusters is one of my favorite comedies of all time. I could write an entire post on the “throwaway lines” alone (don’t doubt I won’t one day). Most of which are said by the always zany and lovable Bill Murray.

On a side note I was once asked that if I could invite anyone in the world to dinner who would it be. My response was Bill Murray. My friends thought that was ridiculous and still make fun of me about that to this day, but I stand by my answer! Bill Murray is awesome.

I have heard Ghostbusters discreetly referenced dozens of times. Sometimes they are so subtle that, unless you have memorized the movie like I and many other Ghostbusters fanatics have, you wouldn’t even pick it up.

So if you haven’t seen Ghostbuster I urge you to go out and see it. It is a film that is loved and adored by all ages or people from all over the world. You wont be disappointed, unless busing ghost doesn’t make you feel good, then I cant really help you there.

Cue Bill Murray: “We came, we saw, we kicked its ass!”

 

Posted on April 9, 2013, in Movie of the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a comment